Mirage, for soprano and piano




Duration: 3′

“Mirage” by Christina Rossetti

The hope I dreamed of was a dream,
Was but a dream, and now I wake.
Exceeding comfortless, and worn, and old.
For a dream’s sake.

I hang my harp upon a tree,
A weeping willow on a lake;
I hang my silent harp there, wrung and snapt.
For a dream’s sake.

Lie still, lie still, my breaking heart;
My silent heart, lie still and break:
Life, and the world, and mine own self, are changed
For a dream’s sake.

Neapolitan and augmented chords couched in a minor key convey the angst and despair one feels when discovering that the dream one spent one’s life pursuing is only a mirage.

Premiere info: This piece has not yet been premiered!

Additional information


PDF, Hard Copy


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Mirage, for soprano and piano”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.